Working for Baelz » Baelz Foundation

On 1st July 1978, Helmut Baelz (1910–1994) set up the Baelz Foundation for Automatic Control Engineering at the University of Applied Science of Berlin in the Supply Engineering and Energy Technology field.

The purpose of the foundation is to promote the training of engineers at the universities of applied science of the Federal Lander of the Federal Republic of Germany in the field of practice-oriented control engineering specialising in supply engineering.

In the meantime, other universities of applied science have been integrated in the work of the Baelz Foundation so that a reliable network of all universities of applied science specialising in supply engineering has been created in Germany.

Every year, the foundation organises several days of seminar at one of the sponsored universities. Every other year, the Baelz Foundation organises a highly appreciated competition, for which outstanding theses can be submitted, which receive an award.

Today, Professor Dr. Uwe Baelz continues the work of his father in the Baelz Foundation.

Baelz Foundation

"In tenders, I never see a comparison of plant costs and operating costs. Plant costs are rendered more often, but the operating costs are neglected. The technology which achieves the same with less - as the Chinese say - requires more appreciation."
"I call upon the young people again and again, be it the apprentice, be it the qualified worker in practice and/or theory, you criticise. Learn to criticise, but if and when you criticise, please also present a better suggestion at the same time."

 

Excerpt from the speech held by the founder Helmut Baelz on occasion of the presentation of prizes by the Baelz Foundation on 16th January 1987.

     Pilot






back to top

Arbeiten bei Baelz » Bälz-Stiftung

Am 1.7.1978 wurde durch Helmut Bälz (1910-1994) an der Technischen Fachhochschule Berlin im Studiengang Versorgungs- und Energietechnik die Bälz-Stiftung für das Fachgebiet Regelungstechnik errichtet.

Zweck der Stiftung ist die Förderung der Ingenieurausbildung an Fachhochschulen der Länder der Bundesrepublik Deutschland auf dem Gebiet der praxisorientierten Regelungstechnik im Bereich der Versorgungstechnik.

Mittlerweile sind weitere Fachhochschulen in die Arbeit der Bälz-Stiftung einbezogen worden, so dass ein stabiles Netzwerk aller Fachhochschulen in Deutschland entstand, an denen Versorgungstechnik gelehrt wird.

In jedem Jahr richtet die Stiftung ein mehrtägiges Seminar an einer der geförderten Hochschulen aus. Alle zwei Jahre veranstaltet die Bälz-Stiftung einen hoch angesehenen Wettbewerb, zu dem herausragende Abschlussarbeiten eingereicht werden können und prämiert werden.

Heute führt Prof. Dr. Uwe Bälz die Arbeit seines Vaters in der Bälz-Stiftung fort.

Bälz-Stiftung

»Bei Ausschreibungen sehe ich niemals eine Gegenüberstellung von Anlagenkosten und Betriebskosten. Man sieht immer wieder die Anlagenkosten, und die Betriebskosten werden vernachlässigt. Die Technologie, die mit weniger – wie der Chinese sagt – das gleiche leistet, bedarf der größeren Wertschätzung.«
»Ich rufe die Jugend immer wieder auf, sei es der Lehrling, sei es irgend einer der Ausgelernten der Praxis wie auch der Theorie, kritisieren Sie. Lernen Sie zu kritisieren, aber wenn Sie kritisieren, bringen Sie auch bitte gleich einen besseren Vorschlag.«

 

Aus der Ansprache des Stifters Helmut Bälz
anläßlich der Preisverleihung der Bälz-Stiftung am 16.1.1987

     Pilot






Seitenanfang